Skip to content

Springtime and bees.

September 28, 2008

In concentrating on our own housing, I almost forgot that with the spring, I’d need to expand the bee quarters.  I’ve decided not to go with the accepted industry norm – ie is to soak the boxes in a wood preservative and paint the outside with a exterior gloss paints…instead I (we’ve) been coating the boxes with a combination of raw linseed oil thinned out with some gum turpentine.  I know this means much more work but I think that it is also less toxic all round.  Not sure how it will affect the longevity of the boxes but there is only one way to find out.

Later this week, I’ll open the hive for the first time since the beginning of winter and  I will move the frames into the new boxes.  Then in a couple of weeks,I’ll  re-queen the hive – it was after all an autumn swarm and the queen in the hive is old.  It does sound sinister, I know.  Also I need to prepare more boxes and frames in the event that we have good nectar flow – so fingers crossed because really, it is RANK amateur hour here.  I’ll try to take pictures to record it all.

The other day as I watched the bees coming and going, landing heavy with yellow pollen I couldn’t get over how amazing they are.  Such activity and work.  Not sure I’ll be marvelling so much after the first sting!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2008 2:19 am

    Great activity Nada. I’m keen to keep bees one day too. Nice hellebores BTW.

  2. Kathy permalink
    September 29, 2008 7:34 am

    I’m envious. I did so like keeping bees, esp trying all the different varieties of honey in each frame. It is very demanding, fairly constant, heavy work.. . . but very rewarding. I hope you find you can handle the stings, and that you love doing it. It is a fabulous journey to take.

  3. September 29, 2008 9:00 pm

    Stuart – Thanks. Go for the beekeeping – your garden will never look back.

    Kathy – I’m looking forward to it all stings not withstanding. I read that book you recommended “The Beekeeper’s Pupil” and enjoyed it. Lots of great information (although in fiction form) and I’m going to try to hunt up some of the references. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a comment