Skip to content

On silence, slipping/slumping and oh….spring!

September 16, 2008

If there are any readers left…….my silence is due to really not knowing what to say.   I had/have plenty to say but really what is this blogging about? What is this blog about? I still don’t know the answer to those questions but here I am.  I think my non-blogging was the result of a winter funk… overcome by the cold and the clouds. My sister, Ms B, tells me that my love of a blue sunny sky means I could never live in London.  Fortunately, I don’t wish to.  The garden, too, is slow in winter…slower here due to the trees.

I had embraked on a carbon accounting challenge but that soon gave way to accounting of the dollar kind as we made an offer on a new house.  This was somewhat unexpected (at this point) but the lure of half an acre  of flat-ish sunny land in our town (walking distance to the train, closer to my sister’s place etc.) and a run down modernist house (oh that 50’s flat roof!!!!) all at an exceedingly good price was too much to resist and…..well, as the vendor wanted a quick settlement…it was less than 5 weeks from the time the offer was made to closing. Quick, indeed! It doesn’t quite feel real yet.

The garden was once loved by somebody….lots of camellias, rhodos, azaleas, prunus, maples and cypress but it has been neglected.  There are some towering Radiata Pines  (weed alert) that we have permission to cut down which will give us much more light….solar access, in planning speak! The timber will be milled for garden beds, a chook house, shelving etc, chipped for mulch and the rest used to bulk out hardwood for the wood heating. They will all be replaced with more appropriate trees- probably fruit and nut trees and some acacias that will fix nitrogen into the soil. Our early plans include chooks, an orchard, lots of vegetable beds, herbs, and a greenhouse. We will keep the camellias etc. because they are probably the original plantings from the 1950’s and the rhodos, as they emerge, look to be some of the showiest, blousiest numbers I’ve seen – a lime (when the sun hits) yellow one is slowly working it’s way into my heart. It is so gaudy.

As exciting as all this is, the reality is that we have to sell our existing home and we know the market is bad but a fair price and a speedy sale is all we hope for. So between organising this house to be ready for sale, starting to plant over at the new place and getting some more work to help pay for it all, I’m just glad it’s (almost) spring and the blue skies, longer days and warmer temperatures mean there is always more daylight to squeeze in some gardening and enjoy the sun.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 2:16 am

    Nada,

    Well you’ve got at least one reader who checks the RSS feed every few days.

    Congratulations on the purchase, and best wishes for the sale.

    We’re the other way around – half way between exchange and settlement on our sale before heading north to the New England area to purchase next year.

    Like you we only hoped for a good sale at a fair price.

    Regards, Gary

  2. September 18, 2008 7:44 am

    You’re selling your house! Oh noes! I would snap it up in an instant, but for the huge commute.

    As a substitute we’re building, with all the chaos that entails.

  3. September 19, 2008 5:50 am

    Gary – Yes, you are doing it the sensible way. That too was our intention to sell and buy after but this place had been on the market for 10 months and it’s priced dropped to a realistic level which made it hard to resist. Thanks for your good wishes and let me return them to you, for your move.

    Anaglyph – Yes, tree house for not that much longer but the new place is still very cool and slightly elevated. No view of gum trees, just of the camellias, rhodos, maples and such in the front yard. A bigger yard for gardening…what a dream though. You’re welcome to visit any time.

    Building, ah yes! I have some of that waiting for me too but I don’t mind it. My dad was a carpenter, so I was used to things being re-modelled every five years or so.

  4. September 20, 2008 6:10 am

    Ah, for sunny skies…
    We’ve just had the least sunny summer in recorded history, with 60% of the expected number of hours of actual sunshine, and despite not being able to see a single cloud right now, the is definitely crisp and autumnal.

    But a good sized yard to garden in – what a joy! Looking forward to the pictures and the reports of glorious produce =^)

  5. September 20, 2008 7:37 am

    How marvellous! Good on you dear! Cor blimey!

  6. October 6, 2008 10:09 am

    Hi Nada
    Congrats on the new house! How exciting! Who are you getting to mill your radiatas? I will be having the same issue in a few months when I get two taken down, and I already have huge stocks of pine from a previous felling…I shouldn’t be ungrateful for excess wood, but there is only so much yard to fill!
    I hope the new place brings you great joy and many working bees (people as well as the buzzing kind!) Sounds like a great change from the diffcult spot you were in…
    Helenx

  7. October 10, 2008 10:16 pm

    Helen : Thanks. The milling is can be done by Timon Wegner or Able/Abel Saw milling. Both are in our local book.

    I like how pine mulch decomposes – good for potting mixes?

  8. October 14, 2008 5:47 am

    Yes indeed, once it has decomposed for awhile it is a great addition to potting mix. I still have some pine mulch that has decomposed over about a year and it is really lovely stuff. It was a cypress pine so it was suitable for mulching near the house too, as cypress mulch is termite repellant! Very handy.
    BTW you do look very cool in your bee spacesuit!

  9. November 5, 2008 7:41 pm

    i love the flower it nice it gives me courage and help me to be strong . s.p. mimi love to so could you send me some seeds

Leave a Reply

