Skip to content

Re-housing the bees

October 9, 2008

A couple of days ago I moved my bees from a 10 frame box into an 8 frame (brood) box and added a super.  More room will hopefully avert a swarm.  I got stung twice and apart from the initial shock, I did not have an adverse reaction. No swelling, in fact,  I swell up much more from mosquito bites.

I was grateful that the bees had overwintered well and that there was no brood disease, beetles or moths in the hive.  One thing that I probably have to admit, is that those full depth boxes and frames will be heavy when they are full of honey, so  I’m thinking that I might go for the “admit it you’re a girl” half depth boxes.  Either that or build up some serious muscle power.  I did taste some of the honey from the burr comb that the bees formed in the lid – eucalyptus.

Needless to say they were very confused with the new housing.  I think I did okay. I couldn’t see the queen so I hope that she survived.  My husband turned up after I’d finished the moving them and as I was just watching them trying to re-organise and also trying learn something of their behaviour.   He laughed when he saw me in the suit and thought I looked like someone from a space-exploration program.  Yeah, if only NASA was as cool as bees!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink
    October 9, 2008 8:36 pm

    Well done! They are such fascinating, cool creatures. Love the photo of the bees!

  2. October 10, 2008 5:12 am

    The Bee Joke. Just in case you missed it.

    Nice suit. Does it only come in white?

  3. October 10, 2008 10:06 pm

    I’m reminded of Gilles Deleuze…

  4. October 10, 2008 10:13 pm

    Kathy: Thanks.

    Anaglyph: White only. For bees white is the only black!

    Lidna: Am trying to work out if this a good thing. Is it better than being reminded of Baudrillard?

  5. November 25, 2008 5:40 am

    How do you like the 8-frame hive compared to the 10-frame hive?

    Great pictures!

    Bee Removal in Sacramento

  6. December 10, 2008 1:22 am

    Hi
    thanks for all the info on beekeeping it is something I have been considering….so i’m following your progress….i like the idea of treating the boxes with linseed oil rather than paint – you could always try a non toxic exterior paint which could be less work.
    michelle

Leave a comment