Skip to content

More from the vegetables.

February 23, 2008

This food looks good, tastes good and is good. There is much more to say about the politics and benefits of growing your own food but for me it starts with the experience and pleasure. This is what sustains you.

carrots.jpg

Three colours carrots. A golden beetroot. Stella Bianca beans. Kipfler potatoes…..or the makings of lunch.

cu-carrots.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2008 1:49 pm

    okay YUM.

    Were you serious about trying to find a new home that had more gardening space? I mean, that is why I moved but then I have always been a bit nutty for dirt.

  2. February 24, 2008 11:31 pm

    El,

    Yes, I was serious about looking for something with more space and more sun. Ideally we’d stay in the same town (it has a decent rail link to the city and other towns so you don’t need to have two cars) but the cost of land is high. Five acres, on the periphery, would be above half a million, more if the land was relatively flat plus it is scarce. Out west, over the mountain, the cost of real estate is much lower but then transport is an issue.

    We may have to settle for half an acre with a house, so any plans for a cow or goats are on the backburner. Fruit, vegetables, poultry and bees may be my lot. But I’m thinking of adding chickens and bees here…small scale.
    However, fox carnage, is what I fear.

    Dirt and sun is what I’m after but for all it’s short comings, where we are is a lovely spot. I know, that I’d miss the view across the little valley.

  3. February 25, 2008 12:31 pm

    the carrots are amazing! and the stella bianca beans look really beautiful … I’m impressed that you grew carrots …. my next goal!

  4. lidna permalink
    February 25, 2008 2:24 pm

    They look super yummy dear!
    I’m still dreaming of the strawbale coop in Tassy – cows, goats, a cheesemaking shed, vege patch…

  5. February 25, 2008 9:18 pm

    Lis: It took years of working the soil to make it carrot friendly. I think the slight sandiness of it works to our advantage.

    Lidna: I dream of cheese making too and as you
    I’m no diary queen! My maternal grandmother was a dab hand at cheesemaking. Tassy could be good, with Peter Cundall as an advocate, you know it’s got to be more than alright. I think, I’d miss my home state. How bloody parochial!

  6. February 27, 2008 9:15 am

    Hi Nada,
    As always your pictures are most inspiring! Growing your own food IS certainly becoming more political…did you see Lateline Business last night and the discussion about food shortages! As you’ve said before you can learn more about what is going on when it filters into the business news, and for some reason it is scarier when corporate types are talking about these issues with real fear,…more edible gardens are needed and I thank you for illuminating that it can be done in less than optimal conditions!

  7. March 11, 2008 9:35 pm

    Those carrots look delicious.

Leave a Reply

