Skip to content

Garden update.

February 20, 2008

bee-calendula.jpg

The summer garden has been a little disappointing but really, when you attempt to grow non-native food plants in a clearing of tall eucalyptus, wrong orientation etc.; what do you expect? Add, the deviations from the known weather patterns -hello summer! might be nice to see you- and what you had assumed about food growing possibilities and what you think you know…… I always have such high expectations. Hmmmm.

Not to be deterred, however, I will not stop gardening because even the small amounts of food/flowers, this land gives me are wonderful to taste and my problem is that, I’m just greedy for more. Gardening, cooking and eating…it’s a fortunate life and next year…….heat loving plants like tomatoes will go into pots to see if that helps.  Carrots, parsnips, potatoes, some lettuces, chard, rhubarb, zucchini have been in small but constant supply…..really, what am I whinging about. A lot more gratitude is called for…really!

nasturtium.jpg

pumpkin.jpg

blueberries.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lidna permalink
    February 21, 2008 10:41 am

    Beaut phots Nada! You’re growing parsnips? Nooooo!

  2. February 21, 2008 3:15 pm

    Well, I am with you about the gratitude, but really: there is nothing wrong with wanting MORE in the garden, is there? This is one area in life I feel we are justified in our greed, especially if it’s edibles we’re growing. Either way, your pics are a tonic to my snow-blinded eyes, so thank you!

  3. February 21, 2008 11:31 pm

    Lidna: Thanks. Parsnips yes. I love them as does Charles. I’ll have more space in the garden beds next year (tomatoes in pots not in the ground)so there will be more room for parsnips.

    El: Aw… those blankets of snow look so calm and peaceful but I can understand how monotonous they could become. Totally with you on the edibles, which long term for us, means a move to a sunnier (maybe bigger) piece of ground.

  4. April 2, 2008 5:22 am

    My garden is on the gold coast. I grow vegetables over winter and in spring until Christmas. Your vegetables look very good and I am sure taste even better. Can you grow Eggplants and other more tender vegetables in the blue mountains? I will make more visits to your garden to feast on your veggies. Ciao

Leave a Reply

