Skip to content

Walking

December 17, 2007

I love walking. It is a fact. I will walk, in preference to any other mode of transport. I have been walking since I was nine months old, much to the surprise of my parents and in spite of the declarations of my uncle who stated with confidence, “That little bumbar (croatian equivalent of oompah loompah/chubster etc) won’t be up on her feet and walking before she’s 18 months old.” He was wrong! My mother says that I started walking and talking ( I love doing that too) at the same time and well…. here we are.

So I give you some photos from one of our rambles into the National Park; a section that is not more than a few kilometres from the house but is a much drier, heath like terrain. (We are in a section of cool climate rainforest/swamp/stream community.) In amongst the incessant doing and making and living, we don’t walk out in the bush as much as would be good for us. Sometimes it’s good to get out there to walk, listen and be quiet!

dianella-seed-head.jpg

Purple Flax Lily (Dianella) seed head – I think

* Correction Haemodorum planifolium (Strap-leaf Bloodroot) or Haemodorum.corymbosum (Rush-leaf Bloodroot).  Thank you to ClareSnow for the classification!

gum.jpg

Young Eucalyptus leaves with new red shoots and soft grey-green leaves.

elr.jpg

We sat here to eat our local cherries and not so local mango.

petropyll.jpg

Drumsticks (Isopogon anemonifolis)

ironstone.jpg

Close up of the ironstone cliff face.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2007 10:39 am

    Very nice photos, Nada.

  2. December 18, 2007 1:53 pm

    Lovely photos. I had a dianella in my old garden but you make it take on a whole new significance! In your photo it looks as sculptural as the ironstone cliff. I seem to recall it has a lovely purple and yellow, very delicate, flower. Something a fairy would carry around on a long pole. That is….if I’m remembering it correctly. I havent seen it in a few years now. Ah, my old garden – no rhododendrons there.

  3. December 27, 2007 7:46 am

    I didn’t know that Dianella grew australia-wide. It’s edible. Some part of it is ground into a flour, but I can’t remember which part.

  4. December 29, 2007 9:04 pm

    Gary: Thanks.

    Melissa: Yes that’s right. They do have lovely flowers and I do prefer them to the rhodo.

    ClareSnow: Hmm…I need to investigate the flour/eating thing further. I didn’t know that they grew beyond the east coast regions. I love the strappy leaves. Just lovely.

  5. January 28, 2008 6:22 am

    Hi Nada,

    I talked to my friend who knows about bush tucker and I got the flour part totally wrong. it’s acacia that you get flour from. Dianella has non-poisonous berries, but they don’t taste nice, so only birds and goannas eat them. I bit into one, but the bitter taste of the juice was enough. It’s the roots that are tasty. They are pounded and then roasted on the fire. Bon apetit!

    I didn’t try the roots because my friend has a nursery and he didn’t want me trashing his stock. But I’m going to get some of them (the WA species) and grow them in my garden. I just got a yellow lechenaultia which has such pretty flowers (i don’t know if they are in NSW too).

Leave a Reply

