Skip to content

Fog

December 10, 2007

 fog-2-at-10.jpg

Fog at 10 am (it stayed like this most of the day)

When we first moved here, I was shocked by the summer fog.  I had equated fog with winter not summer but then again the Blue Mountains gets most of it’s rain during the warmer months (usually).  At night, I could not make out the roads to get home….the highway and village shops were fine but as you drove further out there were less and less street lights.  Also, our town has a large number of part-time residents so very few house lights were on  to guide you.

So how did I get home, one particular night?

The hideous flashing Xmas light displays on houses.  Enough houses along one particular route had Xmas lights and my neighbours at the time had a modest display.  I was so grateful but still not sympathetic to the light displays.  Over time I (and my eyes)  have adjusted to it and when the fog is so thick, you can’t see your back garden, it’s simple – don’t drive!fog-at-10.jpg

black-wattle.jpg

Black wattle (Callicoma serratifolia ) in fog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kathy permalink
    December 10, 2007 9:41 pm

    Beautiful, haunting photos, Nada.

  2. December 11, 2007 9:44 pm

    Hideous flashing Xmas lights?

    I think you meant to say ‘Wonderful guiding lights of Jesus’

  3. December 11, 2007 10:01 pm

    Kathy: Thanks.

    Anaglyph: Hmm….I’m not sure that Jesus was that crass or wasteful or literal….I think we could give him that!

Leave a Reply

