Skip to content

Red

December 9, 2007

fangio.jpg

These lillium bulbs were a freebie with a plant order placed earlier in the year.  Called Fangio, I thought they would be a rather unattractive shade of red, was galled by the popular name and thought “Hmm, definitely something they couldn’t move”  but I planted them anyway (as you do – they were free) I can’t tell you how wrong I was.  My derision and skepticism were misplaced. The colour is strong and dramatic – a perfect foil for the thunderstorms, heavy rain, mist and grey skies we have had of late.

Other reds doing well are rhubarb and I’m trying hard not to focus on that other summer red, the tomato.  They don’t like wet summers. Sigh!  I finally planted most of them out  into the garden so fingers crossed.

rhubarb.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2007 1:24 pm

    You know, I was thinking last night that “Gee, Nada hasn’t posted anything lately, and I am sure spring is marching forward where she is,” and here you are.

    Red in gardens is very good. Beats white, which frankly is all I am seeing lately…

  2. December 9, 2007 9:49 pm

    I have been in a holding pattern due to the wet weather. Waiting for dry days and blue skies or at least days of less rain.

    I don’t mind the rain but we have had 5 times our monthly rain for November and already have about half the average rainfall for December. The soil, in places, is quite saturated.

    It does mean that bushfires aren’t a pressing issue and the ferns and other swampy condition loving plants are loving it.

    I’m just hoping that some good rain gets to where it’s needed; to the places and people out west (grazing and farming districts). It is still too dry out there. Of course, if they get heavy storms and downpours, they’ll have floods.

    Some consistency, is that too much to ask?

  3. December 9, 2007 11:19 pm

    Hi Nada. Your lilliums look beautiful and red is a lovely, strong colour through the grey and mist. My lilliums are just budding and I must admit I haven’t got down below the leaves of my rhubarb to check out their pretty stems. I feel inspired now to take a peek when I’m down tomorrow morning in the garden. On the rains….Dorothea Mackellar’s (sp?) poem of “I love a sunburnt country….of drought and flooding rains” takes on a special resonance as the world watches the debates in Bali. I’m holding my breath for wisdom to prevail.

  4. December 10, 2007 9:10 pm

    Melissa,

    So am I. I keep hoping that they don’t wimp out on the 2020 targets. I read today that the US delegate is claiming the science is not so solid to equate to the action of 25-40% cuts. Hmm, he must be from a different planet!

Leave a Reply

