Skip to content

Rhododendron – it’s a nice flower.

October 30, 2007

rhodo.jpg

Memorial Park Blackheath or Ode to Jeff Koons’ “Puppy “

So sang Bryan Ferry and Roxy Music (early Roxy with Eno, but I am also partial to late Roxy Music) but much as I try, I can’t quite accept the premise. On second thought, it is a nice flower but, but…..

This is an issue, as Saturday is the start of my town’s annual Rhododendron Festival . In fact, Blackheath is known for its rhodos and there is even a Rhododendron Garden that scores of gardeners visit. I’m often giving street directions to these rhodo lovers/gardeners, however, what I want to say/ask, “Why? Why, do you love them so much, that you’d drive hundreds of miles to see them? Explain the attraction, please!”

I know that they work in gardens up here. My neighbours love them. People plant them with abandon. They work with the whole woodsy, mountainy, cool climate garden thing but they just don’t do it for me.

Maybe it’s rhodo overload. Maybe it’s the colours; a coral orange double rhodo. A double? The single flowers aren’t showy enough! Maybe it’s the whole blousy look. I don’t know. At this time of year, when they are blooming their little hearts out, all they elicit from me is contrariness.

* I started this post, same time last year and my opinion has not changed.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2007 9:06 am

    I know it is Blackheathen sacrilege, but I really hate them too!
    Not a big fan of exotics generally though.

  2. xltilde permalink
    October 30, 2007 5:09 pm

    I think you nailed it with the adjective in the title.

  3. October 31, 2007 3:22 am

    Helen: it maybe sacrilege but I am more tolerant of the rhodo, than say rhodo lovers are of um…..hardenbergia. Now there’s a generalization for you.

    Xtilde : Noice. Different. Unusual.

  4. November 1, 2007 7:22 am

    They probably looked amazing in their original Himalayan wilderness… or wherever they came from…

    I saw them in Ireland many years ago at a place called Ardnamona. They were overpowering in their sheer blowsy explosions of flimsy colour. Like the frocks at a 1960s Melbourne Cup.

  5. Justice permalink
    December 6, 2007 3:58 pm

    Nada 🙂
    DO THE STRAND

  6. December 6, 2007 9:57 pm

    Indeed, Justice!

  7. lisa permalink
    December 18, 2007 11:07 am

    nice location

Leave a Reply

