Skip to content

Oh mama…PINK!

October 10, 2007

My sweet nephew (resident of the fine state of Michigan) made the statement/exclamation two years ago, when he saw the blossoms on his first visit here. What else can I add….the street trees are in Park Ave and they are flowering cherries – I think. The wonder, joy and excitement of his words reminds of all that is lovely in this world. Simple and genuine, how is it that we lose this? The blossoms will blow away, the trees will leaf out and so the cycle continues but there is always something to look forward to and enjoy. Why is it that we always want more?

park-ave-2.JPG

park-ave-1.JPG

pink-twiggs.JPG

oh-mama-pink.JPG

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2007 10:21 am

    We always want more because our time is short and I think we instinctively realise that we will never get enough.

  2. October 11, 2007 1:14 pm

    Oh, and the smell! Don’t you want to just eat those blossoms?

    And we are such a long way off to seeing such lovelies. It’s your turn now to tempt us northern hemisphere types, Nada!

  3. October 11, 2007 10:34 pm

    Anaglyph: Hmm…time is short but all things are cyclic which we can’t accept. Enough of what? If the blossoms were around all the time, would they be as exciting? Would they herald the spring? I think in our quest for everything, all the time, we end up with the equivalent of the supermarket tomato…no flavour, no taste but it still looks like a tomato – simulation but no stimulation.

    El: The blossoms are so soft and fluffy. Beautiful.

  4. October 12, 2007 8:36 am

    I was speaking more metaphorically than maybe you took me for. I don’t want everything all the time, but I certainly understand the concept of trying to cram as much (of the important stuff) into my life as I can. And it’s never enough. I’m happy about the cycles – I think the contrast helps us understand why things are special – but my belief is that there is one process, the Big One, which we don’t get on a cyclical basis.

  5. kathy permalink
    October 13, 2007 12:52 am

    How do you describe The Big One or the bits that you want to cram, Anaglyph?

    Is it the obvious surface stuff that you can grab? The wondrous bits that come to you if you stay still long enough? The silence between the busy/grabby bits? Experience? Consciousness? An understanding of what your particular life is about?

  6. October 13, 2007 3:19 am

    It’s everything.

  7. October 13, 2007 8:11 am

    Perhaps the nephew said all that needs be said to capture the awe and wonder. Lovely pics, as usual.

  8. October 14, 2007 12:02 pm

    Anaglyph – If it is everything then aren’t the physical + metaphoric the one continuum? I don’t know, that I want to cram it all in. Experiences, yes but my thinking these days is that a lot less is a lot more and I’m certainly happier with that. We are venturing into beer rave territory! All are welcome!

    Bryan – Thanks.

  9. October 17, 2007 8:40 am

    Yeah, beer rave territory. Too hard for text. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I am aware that my life is too short to fit in all the things that I want to experience. That includes the slow contemplative metaphoric as well as the physical gratuitous tactility.

    Call me greedy.

Leave a Reply

