Skip to content

Economy in the garden

October 8, 2007

pumpkins.JPG

The idea of using toilet roll cores as seed raising pots, I got from Scarecrow’s Garden. Inspired by this re-use idea, I collected the pumpkin seeds from good tasting pumpkins that I’d bought from the co-op. I washed and dried them out and put them into labelled envelopes. The seeds on the left are from a locally grown pumpkin called Blue Grey and the ones on the right are Butternut – not local in origin but now localised by me.

The rolls were filled with a seed raising mix, set out into a polystrene box (thank you local fruit +veg shop) that had flywire (kicking around from some other project) laid in the bottom to contain any soil and the seeds were then pushed into the roll. Re-use and recycling….and cost effective.

They will be planted out, once the temperatures are more consistent. Being able to plant out the whole little unit, should minimise root disturbance and get the pumpkins off to a cracking start.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2007 7:51 am

    Hey, I did that with some of my euc seedlings up at the farm. Another advantage is that the cardboard rolls, once planted out, also help retain moisture for a litle while longer than you’d normally get with a straight planting.

    Viva la pumpkins!

  2. xltilde permalink
    October 14, 2007 9:41 am

    What a top idea – just as I was thinking about buying peat pots. I shall do same as soon as there is a spring to plant seeds in.

  3. October 18, 2007 2:56 am

    I love this idea. I use yogurt tubs that I punch holes in with a hammer and nail and the roots get v.disturbed when i plant them out. I’ll have to try it.

  4. October 25, 2007 5:50 am

    I have already “stolen” your idea. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

