Skip to content

Flowers

October 4, 2007

grevillea-1.JPG

grevillea2.JPG

Grevillea hybrid (bought at a commercial nursery 9 years ago and only now starting to flower)

*Thanks to Kathy for telling me that it is Grevillea lanigera . See http://farrer.csu.edu.au/ASGAP/g-lan.html)

nativemint-2.JPG

Native mint flowers

wattle.jpg

Wattle (Acacia ?……no garden records to confirm variety even though I planted it)

*Thanks to Helen – A. elongata. Swamp Wattle

white-tea-tree.JPG

Tea tree ….I think – it grew without any intervention from me ( apart from keeping weeds at bay)

hardenbergia.JPG

Purple Twining pea – Hardenbergia violacea

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kathy permalink
    October 5, 2007 10:13 pm

    Is that a woolly Grevillea (Grevillea lanigera)? The leaves look like mine, but mine hasn’t flowered yet. I hope I don’t have to wait nine years for it to do so! I just walked up to look at the plant and the flowers on the label look just like yours.

  2. October 6, 2007 4:03 am

    Hi Nada!
    How beautiful!! I have only recently planted a whole lot of natives in the front yard. I am really looking forward to them growing up!
    I think the wattle is Acacia elongata at a guess…Hardenbergia is my all time favourite native (but all my flowers blew off in the wind)

  3. xltilde permalink
    October 6, 2007 9:12 am

    sigh

  4. October 8, 2007 1:55 am

    Kathy: I think you might be right, although the leaves are not woolly but there is some variation in the plant. http://farrer.csu.edu.au/ASGAP/g-lan.html

    Ours is the prostrate version and it took so long to flower because of the long, slow and expensive process of removing radiata pines, holly and cherry laurels – all were both moisture and light thieves.

    Helen: I love Hardenbergia too. I checked the local plant books and you win the prize…it is A.elongata….Swamp Wattle. Congratulations.

    Linda: Can’t you console yourself with copious amounts of gardening catalogues? Sigh!

  5. August 1, 2009 5:25 am

    Flowers are the best way to express feelings. I love flowers very much. Your blog looks perfect. Keep it up the good work.

Leave a Reply

