Skip to content

Back to the garden.

September 10, 2007

hellebore.jpg

Exams are over. Results in six weeks. Why am I doing this, when really all I want to do is grub around in the dirt? That week of sunshine almost killed me. As I sat poring over books, I kept thinking…..there are potatoes to plant, compost to turn and more seeds to start. I felt like a renegade taking these photos. There are new varieties of tomatoes to try….because as Guy Clark says, ” Only two things that money can’t buy and that’s true love and home-grown tomatoes.” How right can a person be?

doodia.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2007 4:29 pm

    Congrats on finishing your exams! (If you’re anything like me, you’ll have nightmares in a couple of weeks of not finishing them, sleeping through them, or showing up late to them.)

    Those hellebores and ferns are gorgeous. And don’t worry about your future job: compost-turning and spud-planting are FABULOUS post-work stress relievers!

  2. September 11, 2007 7:11 am

    Thanks El. I’m hoping to work in the garden and around the house so that I’m TOO tired to remember my dreams. TOO exhausted to think. If only I could get my brain to stop churning.

    True about the post work gardening; in fact towards the end of my former career, it was the only thing that kept me sane.

  3. xltilde permalink
    September 11, 2007 2:35 pm

    Good on ya matey. I’m jealous that you’re doing spring as I contemplate months of nothing much in the garden – weird. I’m turning part of our bedroom into a greenhouse to maintain my sanity. I miss the catalogue poring with you – come over and pore over English ones – they’re gorgeous.

  4. September 12, 2007 4:08 am

    I bet the English have catalogues full of things to sigh over. I’m imagining that they have catalogues of garden tools and catalogues of garden attire….I bet they have a nicely weighted corduroy trouser for the autumn and something in wool for winter…..but you know, I think the yanks have better vegetable seed catalogues. I saw one that had 40 different kinds of watermelon, trillions of different kinds of corn and zillions of tomatoes.

    I miss the catalogue poring too….post pics of your garden. I want to see what you’re planting Ms Linda.

Leave a Reply

