Skip to content

Hellebores

August 9, 2007

picotee.jpg

white-hybrid.jpg

Hellebore hybrids showing some snail/slug damage. I’ve neglected that garden bed a little, as I await for the arrival of hostas and lilies to fill out the planting ….oh and the wood and stone wall, which is on Charles’ list, needs to be completed. The hellebores flower on, regardless of their less than grand surroundings. I hope that our efforts will match the standard of beauty and elegance that they have set. Maybe one day I’ll post a wide shot!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2007 2:44 am

    Thank you for the tips on snail killing. I’m going to try coffee on the weekend. Do you use coffee or is that just your sister? Your flowers look pretty despite the damage 🙂 My boyfriend thinks he’s a bit of a comedian and when I told him about coffee and snails he thought the snails might just go hyper. I don’t think he should quit his day job.

    I want to blog about my snail adventures after trying your suggestions. do you mind if I quote your comment in full? and I will link back to here.

  2. August 9, 2007 7:57 am

    Clare,

    I have used the coffee in the garden. I don’t drink that much of it anymore but I should brew some up to squirt around things. I think that I got the tip from “Gardening Australia”, maybe from a Jerry Coleby-Williams segment but i can’t be sure.

    I do use the iron laced snail pellets and I also pick the snails off and squash them. My plan is to get a couple of chooks and hope that they assist me in my snail/slug control.

    I’ve tried beer and yeast traps too but they are icky and look ugly. I’ve also applied salt around plants as a deterrent but it is a very cruel and dehydrated death for the snail/slug that crawls on that salt line.

    Quote and refer away. I’m honoured to have been of service.

  3. ms. b permalink
    August 10, 2007 8:15 am

    hi this is nada’s sister..

    the coffee/snail idea was from gardening australia. here is the link to the fact sheet

    http://www.abc.net.au/gardening/stories/s1805263.htm

    it also has other slug control ideas!

  4. August 10, 2007 8:49 am

    Thanks. Sister dear.

  5. August 15, 2007 9:55 pm

    Your hellebores are so beautiful … where did you buy your plants? Maxie loves them but I stupidly walked on his plant and killed it!

  6. kathy permalink
    August 15, 2007 11:45 pm

    The Diggers club spring magazine has just come out with a lovely collection of them for sale.

  7. August 16, 2007 12:11 am

    Lis,

    Hellebores were from http://www.postofficefarmnursery.com.au.

    But http://www.woodbridgenursery.com.au also has some. They have some rare ones that made me think, to hell with being fiscally responsible.

    Alas, I’m ordering some hostas from woodbridge nursery because the other place that I’d ordered hostas from originally had some kind of mix up.Anyway the refund value is my limit so no $25 hellebores for me.

    A woman in Bilpin (so local for us Lis) sells hellebores but they aren’t as good – I don’t like them much. I collected seeds from my hellebores which i will start soon – they have self seeded so I have some interesting colour combos.

    Kathy – I love Diggers catalogues. Everything looks good.

  8. kathy permalink
    August 16, 2007 2:34 am

    Unfortunately, little of what they so deliciously show grows well here in the sub-tropics. It is extremely disappointing year after year trying things that don’t actually work with so much humidity and so much less sun. I stopped watching Gardening Australia when they said that 11 out of 12 weeds die when they are chopped off instead of being pulled out. I initially mulched all my weeds until I found I was having to re-weed them as they grew again from the mulch, many times. Now everything goes on the compost heap except the really tough things like wandering jew that go into plastic bags to sit in the sun until they decompose.

  9. August 16, 2007 7:38 am

    Thanks guys,

    Maxie will be very happy!

  10. August 16, 2007 10:34 am

    Kathy,

    if you don’t know about this site take a look……http://www.nurseriesonline.com.au Lots of specialty nurseries that would certainly have stuff for the sub-tropics.

    The weeds – the bigger ones I pull out, the others I cover with lots of newspaper or cardboard (the recycling bin of the local bottle shop/pub has heaps), wet this down and then mulch thickly. Only the few and persistent can withstand that kind of treatment.

  11. kathy permalink
    August 16, 2007 10:35 pm

    Thanks Nada,

    I don’t have a problem finding stuff for my garden; my problem is resisting the flowers I grew up with in Canada, which are regularly offered in Diggers, and which just don’t work here, but which I am drawn to try. Surprisingly, the tulips (which I had resisted for years) that Linda sent me, did flower! But the bulbs have trouble getting big enough to do it again before they must be lifted or rot. We have a weird micro climate here: very hot and humid in the summer, down to close to 0º in winter with little sun.

    Newspaper and cardboard mulch here needs to be renewed way too often, and I am getting lazier as I get older. Thorough weeding with wood chip cover seems to work best for longest, although I prefer to mulch with leaves from our liquidambers and silky oaks. I am gradually getting the hang of what works here…..slow learner!

    Thanks for the website.

  12. August 17, 2007 12:01 am

    Gardening is about learning. Woodchips with newspaper/cardboard underneath is how I keep large sections of the front yard too relatively weed free. It does work well.

Leave a Reply

