Skip to content

Week 5 – I don’t want to hear the word megajoule.

July 10, 2007

That’s how I feel but that’s what Charles said. We are having gas supply problems which is causing our heating system ‘s boiler to fire up (on) and then off. On and off. This would explain the higher gas use. I also suspect that this could have affected the boiler itself. Argh! The interesting thing is that at about 6pm every day, I can hear the switching start – this is the peak use time! We are in the process of trying to work it out but it’s extremely frustrating. I’m trying not to dwell too much on the fact, that this may indeed, be a taste of the future. Too much demand not enough supply!

Habits – I did a couple of loads of washing with hot water (like I used to), luxuriated in the shower a little longer than normal and used the dishwasher once and you know, these seemingly innocuous things contributed to a 25% rise in our power use. Plus a similar increase in our water use.

No CFL, LED, energy efficient star rating or money spent on technological solutions can do it all. The most cost effective and efficient solution is changing your own habits – that’s it. That is all there is.

The big breakthrough was that I was at home for most of the week working on my law assignments (Does the Commonwealth government have the authority to regulate blah, blah blah….? No but they seem to be able to detain someone without charge for an ever increasing amount of time.) and Charles has school holidays, so we used only 5litres of petrol this week.

Also, I’ve decided to go to the weekend schools ( 2 per semester) that are offered for non-metropolitan students. This means I won’t be traveling down to Sydney twice a week during semester time. I’m fortunate that a fellow student who transcribes the weekly lectures, has offered to forward them to me, so I won’t be missing much. Less petrol use and the time spent driving can be spent studying or obsessing about kilowatts. A breakthrough.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2007 10:53 pm

    Your stories are really inspiring Nada, although I do feel constantly guilty…

    It occurs to me that if everyone did even half of what you’ve achieved we’d be a long way along the road to recovery.

    I have discovered that the most heinous threat to Global Warming is surely teenage girls. After living with two of them for this last two weeks it has been highly illuminating (and a constant effort of switching of lights and heating and TVs in their wake). And these are two girls who are (in voiced intent, at least) committed to ‘helping’ cut down our energy use.

    You will be pleased to note my promotion to Step-Ogre.

  2. July 10, 2007 11:34 pm

    Thanks for your kind words.

    It’s really not hard to cut down significantly and it’s had an impact on our lives for the better.

    I’d say teenagers, full stop. I think it’s a gene sequence that makes that age group think (i do recall this), “we are invincible and cool and these ‘old people’ now want to rain on our parade. Whatever.” (or the 80’s equivalent word)

    The concern about lights definitely a sign that your are within the parental zone!

  3. July 11, 2007 8:13 am

    Sigh.

Leave a Reply

