Skip to content

Listen…..

July 4, 2007

……to this Eastern whipbird.

As I lay in bed this morning, that is what I heard. Whipbirds are very secretive and only visible to the patient bird watcher. I am neither, so I stayed in bed and listened.

I love that sound. I used to try and sneak it into film soundtracks if I was doing fx , even when it was not always appropriate.

And these bellbirds can be heard, if you walk down into the valley. Just extraordinary.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    July 4, 2007 5:20 am

    Whipbirds are one of my favourites. They used to be around when I was growing up, but now I only seem to hear them when away on holidays.

    Regards, Gary

  2. July 6, 2007 10:41 am

    I love whipbirds. The ones I keep hearing are behind my house and close which is unusual. Their mating season starts soon maybe I’ll keep an eye out for their nest.

    Last year some magpies nested nearby and we watched as the babies grew and learnt to fly. It was very sweet. magpies are very noisy and not the most pleasant sounding of birds.

Leave a Reply

