Skip to content

Envy

July 2, 2007

split-hakea.jpg

I have garden envy. True! I think I realized this after I commented on El’s blog upon seeing those peaches. Check out her garden – lettuces to die for! OK, now I’ll admit that I don’t want to garden in Northern America…..frozen ground in winter that you can’t get a spade into – no thanks. However, I do want a garden to grow vegetables and fruit in, that has SUN especially winter sun! Soil – you can improve that but you can’t do anything about the sun pattern. Argh!

In the summer, the sun is high enough to clear those tree tops but it’s not enough, to not make growing things a little tricky. I love my house and do love where it is but if I’d known, when we bought it, that I’d be obsessed about growing vegetables, fruit, flowers, a range of plants……….

Now, you don’t have tree ferns springing up by themselves everywhere, native orchids making their seasonal and fleeting appearance or all the other things that come from living on this hillside but can’t I have these and sun. (Starting to sound like greed and envy.)

When the hakea salicifolia (above) was damaged by the heavy rain, wind and snow, I was saddened but then soon realized it would allow more sun into the house – into the area where we start seeds in the winter/spring.

Hmm. Is this becoming a neurosis?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2007 3:45 pm

    I think perspectives really change when one becomes a gardener. When I lived in the city, I cajoled my neighbor to the south to trim his overly enthusiastic maple: it was a safety issue, really (its branches were on my roof). I was SO HAPPY I had more sun in my back yard.

    We’ve all been brought up that Trees Are Good. They are, of course! But dang, so is sun on a garden bed. It’s a toss-up.

    And yeah, gardening here in winter is ONLY done in my mind…wow, would I be obsessed if I could do it all year round!

  2. July 6, 2007 12:09 pm

    What’s that Micheal Pollan expression about what happens to gardeners during winter (esp. nothern hemisphere gardeners)- Driven wild by catalogues.

Leave a Reply

