Skip to content

Snow!

June 19, 2007

snow-at-night.jpg

This tree had tipped over due to the snow. The roots were weakened by a week of solid rain and strong winds.

It started falling last night. I could hear the tinkle on the skylights. I was re-loading as much material as I could salvage back onto my computer – a meltdown and operator error turned my laptop into a blank slate…..and for the first time ever I was slightly ahead with my studies.  That’ll teach me for being a girly swot. No back up….very silly. Lost all or most of the garden photos. A few deep breathes, no tears and a reconstruction plan was enacted.

Once the snow started falling, the highway was closed. Everything was so quiet, still and peaceful. It had started to slowly melt by the time I went to bed. I could hear the drip, drip in the down pipe.

snow-in-garden.jpg

This morning there are more fallen trees including the beloved candle banksia. It’s fallen onto the road and Charles has gone to deal with it. Saws and chainsaws can be heard and there is a faster gurgle in the down pipe as it all melts away.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2007 8:57 am

    Ahhhhh! Pretty!

    Did you see that Sydney had a Force 2 Cyclone warning in effect. What a fizzer that was. I have to admit that I was slightly excited at the prospect. I’m sure that real bad weather is no laughing matter, but hey, Force 2 doesn’t sound that bad.

    In the event, all we got was a bit of a strong breeze.

    Stay warm you guys.

  2. June 20, 2007 1:01 pm

    We had really strong winds last week. It was howling but probably not Force 2. I love wind – thrilling but scary.

    The snow was lovely. More is forecast for tomorrow – fingers crossed

  3. June 21, 2007 1:19 pm

    It all looks so Japanese

Leave a Reply

