Skip to content

A line has been crossed

May 22, 2007

mill.jpg

It may have been too many episodes of “The Good Life”, or the fact that I’ve been spending less time in the Big Smoke…… I’m really not sure what happened but now I can grind and bake our bread. Low tech. Earthy and definitely crunchy. So far, the things made from the flour taste great – better even.

Authentic too. With the strong arms I’m developing, who is going to argue.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2007 10:11 pm

    Doodoo doodoo – last night I had friends over for dinner – as I was serving up the saffron milkcap pasta (mushroooms collected from under pine trees in Blackheath), the salad out of our garden, the buttered kipflers and yellow and green zucchinis out of our garden …. our visitors laughed and said it was like a scene out of “The Good Life” …. we had the most delicious dinner party and all we had to buy was cream, pasta and parmesan cheese … now with your grinder and the idea of a cow on the block next door …..

  2. May 23, 2007 5:30 pm

    Wow, so that’s what it looks like? Is that spotty thing the stone for grinding? Immensely jealous. The one I was looking into was much more of a medieval torture device: huge wheel, etc. This one looks so much more “modern.” Plus, the wheat berries you’ll get last just about forever!

    happy baking, Nada.

  3. May 24, 2007 11:54 am

    Spotty thing is the stone – some kind of basalt. This one has been made ‘modern’ by some german industrial designer…..a minimalist take, if you will.

    I do like those ones that Lehmann’s (they do look olde worlde) sell but getting them here would be expensive. I liked the fly wheel on the top of the range one because it intimates that grinding would be easier. Not sure if that’s true.

  4. May 24, 2007 10:09 pm

    You might have a little trouble growing the wheat though… I’m impressed – I have enough trouble baking bread with shop-bought flower.

    Hey – guess what. I’m getting married & moving to Melbourne.

  5. May 24, 2007 10:38 pm

    Wheat difficult yes. Congratulations!

  6. Gary permalink
    May 25, 2007 2:52 am

    Hi, we’re looking into buying a Schnitzer mill but can’t decide between the hand and electric mills.

    How long does it take to grind enough flour for a loaf of bread? I’d guess about 6-8 minutes.

    Is it difficult to grind, or does the handle spin easily enough?

    Regards, Gary

  7. May 25, 2007 10:08 am

    Gary,

    Yes the handle is very easy to turn and spins easily.

    The time to grind depends on the flour required…ie the coarser the grind the easier it is. I’d say about 10 mins for a very fine flour but I haven’t timed it precisely.

    We are still finding our ‘groove’ with flour milling technique + building up our stamina.

  8. June 8, 2007 2:22 am

    I love your wheat grinder. What are you making with the flour?

  9. June 8, 2007 5:57 am

    I make sourdough. That’s what I’ve used the ground flour for mainly. Pancakes too. Pizza. At the moment I’ve only got hard wheat (winter wheat) to grind plus some spelt grain which is good for bread and the like. If I can find some soft wheat then I can grind pretty much all the flour I use.

    I’ve used it to grind chickpeas for chickpea flour. (needed that for a batter)

    It’s great. It’s a extra step in the process that is slowly becoming ‘normal’.

Leave a Reply

