Skip to content

Suburbs + lawn.

May 21, 2007

mum-dad.jpg
Me with my dear parents.

My love of  gardening and the natural world is down to these people.  Sadly, my father passed away too early but my mother is still keeping us in line!

The house has changed, as has the garden – there are more plants but that lawn is still there. The lawn – I have a love/hate relationship with that lawn. As a child, I loved walking around on it but always managed to step on the sections that had bindii. Ouch!

Now my house doesn’t have lawn. Bush garden.  I’ve avoided the  pressure to have a nice lawn requiring a veritable arsenal of contraptions to grow the grass and to cut the grass. Noise producing machines –  so much for peaceful enjoyment! I read recently that one hour of lawn mowing produces the equivalent greenhouse emissions as driving for 500kms…..I’m still trying to verify this.  Don’t get me started on those leaf blowers.

My parents weren’t overly fond of using chemicals in the garden but even they, used some kind of phosphate on the lawn. The power of the lawn and social conformity.

Anyway….I’m on lawn mowing duty this week as my mother is still away. I promise to be nice to it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2007 3:04 am

    Aside from all those other things, lawn takes huge amounts of water to maintain. I read somewhere (and I just searched for an attribution but couldn’t find it) that something like 10% of Sydney’s domestic water use goes to lawns.

    Cute pic btw. Love the bonnet – you should take it up again!

  2. May 22, 2007 6:02 am

    Mercifully, my mother’s lawn just get rainfall and grey water (ex laundry). I’ve never seen her water the lawn….but then again she is of the generation that once would hose down the paths after the lawn had been mowed! Now there’s the leaf blower to be used…..all I can say is, what’s wrong with using a bloody broom?

    The bonnet – I should have worn it while doing sound post (mixing). It’d cut down noise by 10-15dB.

  3. May 22, 2007 10:06 pm

    Ian created a little tool to chop out dandelions because they were taking over our “lawn” … after a couple of weeks of permaculture I persuaded him to leave them there so I can grow enough to start harvesting and using them – roots for coffee, flowers for fritters, leaves for salads … now I’m hoping to have a dandelion lawn

  4. May 22, 2007 11:31 pm

    Yeah, we’ve got dandelions too but I do dig them up to add to the compost or cut to use the leaves to add to silverbeet pies or frittatas.

    I don’t let them flower + seed because that just sends them into the bush where they are minor problem.

    Next time I dig out the root and Ill try to dry + grind them so that Carlos can have tea/coffee (he likes it???) but that’s where I draw the line.

Leave a Reply

