Skip to content

Cuttings.

April 28, 2007

hydrangea.jpg
Wandering around the streets of Blackheath last weekend, we walked past a young couple pruning hydrangeas in their garden. They were piling up the trimmings on the street. I asked them if I could take some of the discarded plant material and then carried it home. Once home, I trimmed them up, dipped the ends in honey and put them in pots of seed raising mix.

Whilst this is not especially unusual, even as I was asking them for the stuff and carrying it home, I kept thinking that there was a time when I wouldn’t have done this. A time, say, if I were with my mother and she had done this I would have cringed perhaps even winced. How things change.

I’m on a bit of a propagating bender at the moment. I’ve taken some Wormwood (Artemisia absinthium) cuttings and am planning on taking cuttings from the Native Sarsparilla (Hardenbergia violacea) and a prostrate Grevillea – I can’t remember if it’s G. Gaudichaudii or G. laurifolia. Both are local (native) ground covers and are already in my garden. No need to cadge them from anyone else. Will take cuttings from these (see below) Hairpin Banksias ( Banksia spinulosa) plus some other plants too. Once I’m out there with secateurs, there will be no stopping me.

How cool are these flowers.

banksia.jpg

banksia-1.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2007 4:18 am

    Nada Hi, beautiful photos! I just want to thank you profusely for the wonderful & prolific tigerella tomato seedlings you gave me at the beginning of summer – these beautiful tomatoes are STILL ripening on the bushes & in the meantime I’ve bottled them & cooked up jars & jars of tomato sauce, tomato & chilli jam & green tomato relish – one bottle of each waiting for you next time you’re “in village”. Thanks also for being such an inspiration & getting me started on blogging – am now dealing with all the problems of blogaholism but your site inspires me to keep the balance & get out into the garden too. While you’re doing your cuttings etc don’t forget to get some spearmint from us!

    Lis (PS thanks for putting my blog up!)

  2. May 1, 2007 5:37 am

    Oh Nada!! You know the way to an Aussie gardener’s heart – just post pics of banksias. These are so awesome and inspiring. I love their colours and structure – amazing Aussie plants.

  3. May 1, 2007 6:43 am

    Lis – Thank you. Will come by for the spearmint. The Vietnamese mint you gave me is doing really well. I just have to remember to use it more in cooking. Yum!

    Stuart – The Banksias are amazing. I love them and the little honeyeater birds they attract.

  4. May 3, 2007 3:51 am

    I’ll help you make the absinthe…

  5. May 6, 2007 8:14 am

    Excellent! This is why I’m propagating lots of plants.

  6. May 6, 2007 10:20 am

    Nada, Wow they are wonderful – wonderful plants, wonderful photos. Are they hairpin banksias – both of them? Different colours. I wonder if they grow here in Canberra? I might have to check around. I used to be a member of SGAP many years ago and planted my first home with natives. Since moving to this dilly dalley home, I’ve shifted slightly in my interests – to the vegie patch and surviving parenting – but do still love those natives. How could you not? Look at those fascinating structures.

  7. May 7, 2007 6:23 am

    Melissa – The Hairpin Banksia can have dark red pins (styles) as well. The two plants are in slightly different spots so that may account for it. Also, the plant with the red styles is only half the size it was two years ago, as 10m gum tree (termite ridden) fell on it. The tree was on neighbouring property. The joy of the bush block.

    According to “Native Plants of the Sydney district” the Hairpin Banksia grows from the NSW Central Coast down to Victoria, coast + adjoining tablelands and of course, west towards the Blue Mountains.

    Most of the natives planted are part of regenerating the block. It was horribly weed infested. It’s been a very slow process.

Leave a Reply

