Skip to content

Hardware nostalgia.

April 14, 2007

smaller-shoes.jpg

There are few stores or shops that I like to visit.  A shopper I am not.  A couple of hours browsing in anything like a mall and misanthropic is not quite adequate to describe how I’d be feeling.

I do, however, like hardware stores.  My sisters all like hardware stores too.  I think it comes from going to hardware stores and the like with our dad.  Our father was a builder and an all round DIY guy. He was not a recreational shopper. Our father’s maxim was, “You shop to buy something you need, not to look for something to buy.” I always loved the distinction he maintained.  Anyway, the hardware store with our dad was always fun.  He would deal with, what he was there to do and we could wander around looking at different things.  The blokes in there always were amused by this man with at least a couple of daughters in tow and how mesmerised we were by all that stuff.

Today, I went to a newly opened hardware store (a couple of towns over) with my bloke.  He had to exchange a spirit level.  He did not tell me much about the place but being aware of my hardware store fetish was looking forward to the ‘state’ I would  be in.  The store was kind of generic but not too big or too small.  I just walked in and was transported.  I wandered around just looking at things. Lock barrels, door handles, copper wire, millet brooms , Felco secateurs….some basic good gardening tools and deals on blood+bone, pea straw etc.  Talk about nostalgia.  Fortunately, there were no live plants or seeds there because in this state I really could have bought anything.

The smell of formaldehyde (new store) snapped me out of the fug – these places whilst fun are also pretty toxic – so the purchases I made were very sensible – a new type of gutter guard (please work!) and a gutter cleaning tool. Water tank installation is underway and keeping debris/animals out of the gutters is essential.   Much as I love eucalyptus trees, they shed leaves all the time – sweeping is very meditative.  No leaf blowers used here!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2007 11:58 pm

    Hardware stores and stationery shops. Mmmmm. And recently for me, home storage shops, since my house is so teensy and I have nowhere to stash anything.

    What does the gutter cleaning tool do? I think I need one!

    My experience with leaf guards is that they work for a while and then the leaves build up on top of them. But in any case, they make the gutter-cleaning experience a whole lot easier. Plus, they stop mulchy watery clumps building up in the gutters and aiding the formation of nice little rust patches.

  2. April 15, 2007 10:01 am

    My experience with leaf guards is the same. This is a new product which curves over and purports to allow some of the leaves to blow off. We’ll see but at least the leaves aren’t in the gutters. The gutter tool is a narrow scoop, that means you can scrap out the gutters without cutting your hands on the tin roof.

    Stationery – oh yes. Paper and ink.

  3. xltilde permalink
    April 16, 2007 3:01 pm

    Stationery and hardware – my Dad used to take me to the hardware shop via his office – all the stationery was kept in the safe and I was sometimes allowed to play in there. Then I got to go hardware shopping with him. Heaven.
    Also Nada dear, do you have any advice for getting rid of aphids from roses? They’re white (the aphids that is), not green like the ones at home, but I assume they’re aphids as they’re inhabiting the new growth. There’s no hose at this place – I am restricted to watering can activity.

  4. April 16, 2007 11:13 pm

    Linda,

    If there isn’t too many I just remove them with my hands. It is squishy though. What about one of those pest oil (oil + soap + water) that Peter Cundall or Jerry make on Gardening Australia. Have you partaken of any english gardening activities?

  5. xltilde permalink
    April 17, 2007 8:31 am

    Thanks dear,

    I squished quite a few, but more appeared. I shall go the soap.

    Visited English gardens do you mean? We waited for Kew Gardens to be at its best, then James got work (the usual, 7 days a week for ever). I may have to go without him, despite his protests – apparently I’ve already missed the crocuses blooming.
    As for gardening doing, check out the blog.

  6. April 17, 2007 11:56 am

    Linda,

    Visiting I did mean that. What about those nurseries, country gardens etc?
    If you go to the Psychic Garden take some pictures, so that I can have my vicarious thrill.

    Read your robin blog entry – how marvelous. I only have currawongs or kookaburras swoop when I’ve been gardening lately….the little finches however do love hopping around under the ferns.

Leave a Reply

