Skip to content

Doing!

April 12, 2007

activity-cu.jpg

Some harvesting. Some planting. Some planning. Some of the seedlings are for my mother’s garden which is my version of sucession planting this year. The plants will grow and mature much more quickly down in her Sydney garden and then mine will be ready up here. I’m going to try to grow tomatoes over winter in her garden – summer time offers a huge pest problem for any tomatoes other than cherry tomatoes. Sydney winters are mild. To maintain temps overnight I’ll need to use some plastic. We’ll see how it goes. The broccoli, lettuces and winter greens should do well in both places. Peas and broad (fava) beans too. The great thing about my mother’s veggie patch is the fabulous soil. It is so much better than the stuff I’m working with here. Oh and the perfect full sun orientation. Envy – hmmm?

seedlings-cu.jpg

Stretchy little seedlings …..even with careful sowing I still couldn’t avoid the multiple seed in the cell. They have come up very quickly. They were planted less than a week ago.

Bulbs will need to go in soon. This year, I’ll grow them in pots until I sort out if I should incorporate them among the hellebores, hostas (yes I’ve ordered some – not yet here) and arum lilies (zantedeschias – ordered Green Goddess and was given some yellow and pink ones). Plus my dear husband needs to finish some hard landscaping in this area before anything is really settled.

car-in-garden.jpg

This is the bloke hard at work – covering the greens with polytunnel plastic.  The underlying structure (not visible) is made  from bent steel wire like they use in concrete form work.  Don’t know what the technical name for the stuff  is but it works really well.  Saw it being used in someone’s garden in a permaculture video.

Finally, am slowly making in roads into the mushroom compostbut why did I order so much?

nigella.jpg

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lidna permalink
    April 12, 2007 6:21 am

    Hostas Nada – I’m shocked! Watch out for snails – they love snacking on those lovely leaves…

  2. April 12, 2007 8:40 am

    I knew you would be shocked. But they should do well in that semi-shade bit where the hellebores are.

    I have restrained myself by not going for the variegated kind. These should have that blue green foliage.

    Snails….yes, they are a problem but not as much of a problem as me + flashlight will pose for them.

  3. xltilde permalink
    April 12, 2007 1:11 pm

    If I were a snail, I’d be afraid. Very afraid.

  4. xltilde permalink
    April 12, 2007 1:18 pm

    And that is a most elegant photograph.

Leave a Reply

