Skip to content

My mama’s garden

March 19, 2007


680.jpg

My mother has always had a vegetable patch. She’s very good at growing lots of different things and she’s an excellent seed saver. My favourite thing about her seed saving is that the seeds are often named according to who gave them to her – so Asian snake beans are known as “Beans from Nevenka” and so on. My mother and her network (read cronies) are great at swapping seeds, produce, giving each other excess seedlings and the like. They do buy seeds and trial them and then pass them around. I love that generosity.

My mother is going overseas soon, so I get a chance to look after her patch. That’s good for me as winter in Blackheath is often a slow time in the garden but down in Sydney you can still grow and harvest quite alot. I’m looking forward to it. The last time she went away, one of my sisters and I looked after and did a big maintenance job on the yard. My mother’s friends would visit (often in our absence) to “check” on things. Whilst their ‘nosey parker’ act was somewhat annoying, they agreed that our mother had raised some gardeners. My sister and I were pretty happy we’d passed the test.

This eggplant came from my mother’s garden. This summer is the first time that she grew them. She very proudly gave it to me. Yum! Eating fresh garden produce, smelling gardenias and roses is really what got me hooked on gardening – a great sensual pleasure. Sure there is digging, lifting and hard work but somehow it seems worth it. The other thing I love about gardening is gardeners……oh and I’m very lucky that my dear mama is one of them!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2007 7:36 am

    C’mon – stop it with the ‘harvesting’. You’re making me jealous.

  2. March 19, 2007 12:48 pm

    Now envy too has a place in the garden. You just have to use it wisely.

    My main garden envy is gardens with more sun than mine and better soil.

  3. March 20, 2007 2:42 am

    My main garden envy is of gardens.

    Still, I do have a pretty gardenia, and now a pot with chillis, basil and coriander!

  4. March 25, 2007 3:26 am

    Oh, you are so lucky – and so is your Mama – when I lived in Adelaide I could grow anything, all the vegies, and a walk down the backyard to pick a salad. Now I am in the sand of the gold coast and can grow nothing – very sad.

  5. March 25, 2007 7:17 am

    Della,

    If you have sand, you should have surf and the ocean is such a thing of beauty. Sigh. I do miss the easy access to the beach, living up here in the mountains.

    Adelaide – you can grow almost anything there, if you’ve got water. Great stone fruit. Yum!

Leave a Reply

