Skip to content

Mrs Rae’s Garden redux

January 5, 2009

apples

Just so that you don’t think Mrs Rae had a fondness for outlandishly coloured shrubs , there are also a number of very fine trees including an oak, a magnificent towering copper beech, some dogwoods and by the grace of good sense, a tall eucalyptus/ gum.   Perhaps the greatest thrill for me has been the discovery of two apple trees.  They need some care and “renovation’ so that the fruit can be picked more easily – one tree is the sole territory of noisy rosellas. However, on this kind of pruning/tree rejuvenation, I need to get some advice because I don’t want to kill the gift. Those apples are so cute in their clusters!!

The vegetable garden we started at the new house is really kicking along and we have been eating greens/brassicas, lettuces, beets, radishes, chilli and herbs from the garden for a couple of months. Tomatoes, potatoes, corn, eggplant, beans are flowering and starting to set fruit.  I feel very fortunate. And since we have sold our old house, I feel enormous relief.  We have to be out of the old place by early February….so we are in the process of moving and painting the new house etc. which leaves little time for gardening. I haphazardly keep shoving stuff in the ground and it keeps growing and growing.

I feel almost giddy, when I think of the garden. Oh, the eternal hope and plans of the gardener….not a bad way to start  2009.

Good fortune and best wishes to you all for the coming year.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 3:28 am

    I hope you have a happy new year in your new sunny garden Nada.
    Those apples look tasty!

  2. January 6, 2009 10:08 am

    Thanks Clare. Will let you know if indeed they are.

  3. January 6, 2009 3:05 pm

    Happy new thing to you my dear and Carlos and be happy in your lovely garden!

    XL

  4. January 7, 2009 10:24 pm

    Thanks, Linda! Happy New Year to you both. xx

  5. January 10, 2009 9:35 pm

    Happy 2009! I look forward to seeing pix of the developing garden in the new place.

  6. January 11, 2009 12:21 pm

    Anaglyph – Happy 2009 to you too. I need to get that painting done and move so that I can focus on the garden. Weeding is looking good to me now.t

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

